I just purchased this book: Icelandic Knitting Using Rose Patterns by Hélène Magnússon.

It is beautiful and the designs aren’t like any I have seen before. I am completely smitten with it.

The book lists the Handknitting Association of Iceland as a source for the yarn used in the book. The really great thing is that the Icelandic currency is so low that I just ordered enough yarn for a large sweater for a very cheap price, and a year ago it would have cost me twice as much. They were a pleasure to do business with, answered all my questions, and they even take PayPal.

The Icelandic people must be having a hard time of it (see here), and surely stimulating the economy by buying yarn is practically the least we can do to help knitters, sheep farmers, etc. half way around the world?

The yarn looks lovely, but of course it is practically impossible to know what it will be like until I fondle it. I have taken my leap of faith and will have to see how it turns out.

