I recently started working with a new tech editor, Joeli Caparco. I am very excited to have her working with me and wanted to take a minute to allow her to introduce herself to you:

joeli-2

Could you please tell me a bit about yourself?
For some reason, I think this is always the hardest question to answer. I’m in my early twenties and have a degree in Mathematics. For 18 years of my life I lived in Rhode Island, but now live in England with my husband. I prefer to knit everything as seamless as possible. I’m also a perfectionist and won’t admit to how many revisions just this one question has gone through. My favorite colour is teal and my favorite animal is either a turtle or a hippo. I can never answer as to what my favorite movie or food is because I think that they are too general of categories. Ask me my favorite action movie that includes a montage or my favorite food with cheese on it and then I might be able to answer (Rocky IV and pizza, respectively).

When did you start knitting and what inspired you to try it?
I started knitting when I was 6. I can’t remember why I wanted to learn but I can remember that it was my neighbor that taught me the basics. The rest I learned from reading books.

What do you like to knit the most?
Probably socks. They’re quick, don’t require seaming, always fit, and are never unflattering.

Do you do other crafts (i.e. could you tech edit crochet patterns)?
Unfortunately I don’t.

I see you have a mitten pattern, Corazon published in Knitty, winter 2006: do you see yourself as more of a designer or tech-editor? Is there a tension between the two for you? Do you have a favourite?
I definitely see myself as more of a tech-editor. Designing is something that I enjoy but it is very hard for me to come up with ideas. Once I have a finished item I can write the pattern no problem. Doing the math and writing the pattern is the easy (and my favourite) part and this lends itself well to tech-editing. There is definitely no tension between the two.

I notice your main website is a cooking blog, Baking in Galoshes, what would be the one kitchen tip you would share?
I did have a knitting blog but I found it too hard to post when so much of what I knit has to be kept a secret for ages (lots of test knitting). My kitchen tip would be to perfect a few basic recipes. I sometimes have disastrous attempts at cooking for company which I think is just down to bad luck. One birthday party I managed to mess up both deserts (lemon meringue pie and cheesecake–neither set) BUT because I have perfected a basic (and very quick to make) sponge cake recipe I was able to make it work (tip: sponge cake with unset lemon filling and a decent meringue topping is delicious!).

If someone wants to start out as a tech editor, where would you recommend they begin?
I’d say start out test knitting. If you’re knitting a lot already then you’re probably familiar with finding errors in a pattern and working with lots of different types of patterns. But test knitting is a really great way to build up references. As is often true in life I think the trick is to get your foot in the door and use that experience to move up the ladder. Ravelry is a truly amazing source for finding work.

If other designers are looking for a tech editor, are you available?
Absolutely! They can contact me by email (joeli.caparco at gmail dot com) or on Raverly (user name: Joeli).

If you could only knit with one yarn for the rest of your life, what would it be?
Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Yarn unless I’m allowed to bring back discontinued yarns in which case Jaeger Matchmaker Merino 4ply.

joeli-1

