One of the questions that often arises for me is how to make the best use of handspun, bulky, and novelty yarns

marchspinning-2

These yarns are often expensive, detailed, and bulky, and there is often not enough to make anything of any great size. I want to make something with these yarns, large enough to be useful, and that shows the artistry in their making.

I find that many crafters approach knitting from the perspective of a spinner or approach spinning from the perspective of a knitter. I think spinners who come to knitting often want ways to use their handspun yarns and want to knit something very simple, which makes sense when using many novelty yarns, but the detail of the yarns can get lost in the stitches.

pixiescarf-2

Knitters who come to spinning often want simple yarns in fabulous colours and fibres to use for more knitting focussed projects.

calorimetry-1

I have tried both, and both have appeal, but I would like to propose a third way – there are techniques and styles and projects that can make use of beautiful handspun yarns of every description and show them to advantage, and here I must confess that many of my ideas in this area are heavily influenced by Debbie New.

I bought both these yarns from Milkyrobot’s Etsy Store

Girls Throw Snow (40 yards / 36.5m):

milkyrobotyarn-1

And Earthworm (46 Yards / 42m):

milkyrobotyarn-2

When they arrived I was really unsure about what to do with them. I was worried that they were too intricate to show all their detail and too short to make much if knit by themselves. Every centimetre of these yarns is beautiful, and I would hate to hide whole sections of them behind cables or on the back side of something.

For the Girls Throw Snow yarn I mixed it with some grey fingering yarn I had lying around that matched one of the accent colours, and knit it in an irregular version of Debbie New’s squiggle lace using large needles (pattern):

wisp-4

For the Earthworm yarn I wanted to make things more interesting and combined several yarns:

earthwormscarf-4

In a long strip:

earthwormscarf-5

That I crocheted together into a scarf at the end using Debbie New’s labyrinth knitting technique (Ravelry link):

earthwormscarf-8

I especially like the way the mohair lace weight makes transparent sections.

These projects show these yarns as I wanted them to be shown and have enough knitterly interest to keep mine.

I could probably be induced to produce a pattern for the Earthworm scarf too, if enough of you leave comments on my blog here.

